MoI made a new announcement about visas

MoI made a new announcement about visas 

Visitors who are entering Qatar on a tourist visa on arrival should extend the same electronically through the website of the Ministry of Interior (MoI).

The Airport Passports Department is encouraging visitors to use the electronic channel to extend their on-arrival visas, free of charge. They have also been urged not to visit the Airport Passports Department for the service.

While the extension procedure processing was previously done through the passport control at the airport, it is now done only though the MoI website.

“Our department has adopted electronic technology in all transactions related to public visas, including the free tourist visa on arrival. Nationals from 47 countries are eligible for an on-arrival visa that is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance. The visa holder can apply for a renewal for an additional 30 days through the MoI portal,” Airport Passports Department Director Col. Muhammad Rashid Al Mazroui said.

If a visitor fails to complete the extension procedure within the visa’s expiry date, then he or she will have to pay an additonal rate of QR200 per day of overstay.

The authorities had earlier announced that people belonging to 47 nations do not require prior visa arrangements and can obtain a visa waiver upon their arrival in Qatar.

The 47 countries are Azerbaijan, Australia, Argentina, Ecuador, Uruguay, Brazil, Vatican, Mexico, India, United States of America, Japan, Andorra, Indonesia, Ukraine, Paraguay, Pakistan, Brunei, Britain, Panama, Bolivia, Belarus, Thailand, Chile, China, Comoros, South Africa, Georgia, Russia, San Marino, Singapore, Suriname, Guyana, Venezuela, Kazakhstan, Canada, Cuba, South Korea, Costa Rica, Colombia, Lebanon, Macedonia, Moldova, Monaco, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Ireland and Peru.

Leave a Reply